Prepare it just for a week or 10 days. I think you are over roasting the fenugreek seeds. 64 en parlent. (See picture below). gcse.src = 'https://cse.google.com/cse.js?cx=' + cx; struggling to make powders myself..:(. I have been using your recipe for the past three years and the taste is impeccable. Coriander seeds -250 grams or 3 cups Tur dal -100 grams  or 1/2 cup Red chillies -50 grams Whole black Pepper -50 grams or 1/3 cup (1 tbsp less than 1/3 cup) Cumin Seeds or Small Jeera -50 grams or 1/3 cup Curry leaves – little (dry it well ), Filed Under: Podi varieties, Uncategorized Tagged With: South Indian recipes, Tamil Brahmin recipes, Uncategorized. Homemade sambar powder not only gives a nice flavor to the dishes but is also very economical. Ran out of rasam powder midway into my preparation of drumstick rasam. I do not know where you went wrong. Instant sambar for idli. I like the kadai that you have used. Recently my mom made Sambhar powder with certain measurements but the chilli she used was too hot and hence for the same measurement its too spicy and the chili overpowers the flavor. Learn how to make Sambar Powder Recipe at home in a healthier Way. I cooked this sambar only using ladys finger.it came out well.thanks for ur recipe padhu. Thank you for the beautiful, well explained recipes. Only burnt fenugreek seeds give a bitter taste to the sambar. Unlike other recipes, here no cooking skill is involved and I think the proportions given are the best we can get for sambar powder. Dry roast some coriander seeds and any other ingredients she uses in Sambar podi like tur dal, cumin seeds etc powder it finely and mix it with the rest. Can u give measurements to prepare podi at the moment n use. Maybe a little too much tamarind, but I will try again…delicious. I do not know about store bought sambar powder. Sambar powder is also called as sambar podi in tamil language. Keep stirring continuously for even browning. Sambar is one of the most delicious South India